top of page
Search

March Madness

Because a) go heels and b) it is madness down here.



I have to say- I really miss Carolina basketball. However, the news of Villanova, UVA AND Duke losing: music to my ears. All of my friends here are cheering on the Tar Heels with me. I got several texts today from friends here saying "did you see that duke lost?!???" 

I am beginning Week 3 of uni and I keep forgetting that I am here to go to school... Sorry mom & dad. The courses that I am taking here are no joke. The University of Sydney is considered an Ivy League school, established to be a displaced version of Oxford. I am in the full swing of things- a paper due Thursday, group projects starting and exams coming soon.

This past weekend, I stayed in the city but did several touristy things. Friday, I did the Sydney Harbor Bridge Climb! I didn't realize at first...but it certainly was a climb. The tallest point of the bridge reaches to 134 meters (440ft!). Our tour guide, Ricky, was awesome- teaching us everything from the history of the bridge to the geography around us. 

On Saturday, my Outdoor Education class took a field trip to the Royal National Park. It had been raining all week so the trails were pretty wet. The hike was 8km and mostly uphill. However, it was absolutely gorgeous! The views were phenomenal. We hiked from 11am to 4pm through creeks, beaches and rocks. That night, I slept for 11 hours and then the next night- another 13 hours. The hike really did it for me.

I'm starting to feel like a local here! I can finally hop on a train without debating in my head for 5 minutes which train is best. I've tested out all of the coffee shops on my street and decided which ones are my favorites- Shortlist for breakfast (brekkie), Bobby's for lunch. We have tested out several dessert places and obviously I am in love with all of them. We want to hit all of them before the semester ends! ​ xxx, Em

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page