top of page
Search

I'll make my own avocado toast, thank you!

With The Real World coming my way fast, I am trying my best to save up for future rent, bills, etc. If I'm going to live in an expensive city like San Francisco, I need to start saving ASAP. This blog is going to feature my top three tips for how to save money when surrounded by millennial spendthrifts. Just a few minor changes I've made to my daily lifestyle have helped me save some extra cash. Here's what I recommend!


1. Make Your Own Coffee

This was the worst habit for me in the past. I had the Starbucks App and became a gold star member over a matter of months - meaning I had spent over $300 on coffee last semester. I was furious at myself for wasting that amount of money. But at the same time, I adore coffee. And not just any coffee, I LOVE espresso. I can't drink a cup of coffee from a pot anymore after having Australia's world-renowned coffee. There's nothing better to me than a large iced latte to jump start my day.


So what did I do? I went on YouTube and figured out how easy it is to make your own espresso. I bought a $30 espresso machine from Target and before I knew it, I was making my own iced lattes every morning. Spending $5 on a coffee 3-4 times a week can really rack up. Now, I only buy espresso beans and almond milk once every three weeks. Here is my favorite kind of espresso, and it's only $6 too!


2. Find a Go-To Meal to Make at Home

A carton of eggs is my best friend. Whenever I'm in a rush, I always just whip up some eggs. The best thing about them? You can make them so many different ways! Scrambled, poached, over easy, sunny-side-up. The possibilities are endless. I eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner.


One of my favorite ways to make them is simple: toast some bread, smash on some avocado, and add your eggs any way you like them. If I'm feeling fancy, I'll add some sautéed kale and tomatoes, and maybe even some feta! It's a filling meal if you make two pieces of toast.


If I want a bigger option, I make some of Trader Joe's Vegetable Fried Rice and throw some scrambled eggs in. Side note: Trader Joe's is one of my favorite places in the world - very inexpensive produce.


3. Stop Spending Money on Fitness Classes

If I don't do some kind of exercise every day, I go stir-crazy. But workout classes can be expensive! I tried Orange Theory one summer and spent $180 on some exercises that I could do on my own at the Student Rec Center. No. Thank. You. If you need someone to yell at you while you work out, then do your thing. But for me, I need to save money.


I've found that I love to run outside. Maybe I'm lucky because I live in a small college town but there is nothing more refreshing to me than running around UNC's campus. Even if I'm too tired, or it's chilly outside, I love to walk with friends. It's a great way to catch up and hang out while getting some great exercise in.


Pro Tip if you do want to do workout classes: try their specials. Every fitness studio I've ever been to has some sort of testing package for first time students. I fell in love with my yoga studio in Nashville because they had a $30 for 30 days unlimited package. In Chapel Hill, I've tried numerous studios with similar types of deals. Not to mention, they usually have student discounts for drop-in classes!




So, if you're like me and trying hard to save, follow these three easy tips to make the most out of your millennial budget. Believe me, I'm very guilty of spending $25 on brunch with just food, coffee and a tip.


But, I'll make my own avocado toast and lattes from now on. And I'll tip myself for saving some money!


xx,

Em

199 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page